centering guides in CorelDRAW

Home Forums Tactile Graphics centering guides in CorelDRAW

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Julie Sumwalt
    Participant

Hi,

I'm new to CorelDRAW. I'm creating a template for 11.5x11" paper. First, I want to set guides for my outer margins. I've just learned it's best practice to center the guides so that a grid of braille cells (40 across by 25 lines down) is centered on the page. How can I make sure my guides are set so that there are equal margins on the left and right, and equal margins on the top and bottom of the page?

In the attached file, I ended up making the braille cell grid first, adjusting the line distance to 111%, as directed by GSTG standards, centering the grid, then arranging the guides around it. Is this the best way to do it? Even if it is, I would still like to know if my margins are equal, in case my guide-arranging was a little off. This is, after all, a template, and I don't want all my tactile graphics to be off from here on.

Thanks,

Julie

• This topic was modified 1 year, 6 months ago by Julie Sumwalt. Reason: Attaching PDF version of CDR file
    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    Donald Winiecki
    Hi Julie!
    Using CorelDRAW any object can be centered on the page with a shortcut key (our CorelDRAW expert is a huge fan of those shortcut keys!). This includes text.
      To see how this works, draw a circle or something else anywhere on the screen.

• After you have drawn an object, select the object and press the letter “p” on your keyboard (not the quotes, just p).
    • Whatever was selected will have been moved to the center of the page.
    This same technique can be used to center anything in CorelDRAW.
    You can set-up your template and draw your margins using this technique, as described below.