math expression entirely in words and entirely in grade 1 braille

Home Forums Unified English Braille Technical math expression entirely in words and entirely in grade 1 braille

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Cheri A. Wales
    Participant

Hello.  I've tried looking through the UEB Technical manual, the UEB guidelines, and your webinars on technical braille and I can't figure this out, especially as it's math within math.  How do I braille the attached expression?  I'm new to doing math in braille and the student I am doing it for is new to braille in general and only reads grade 1 braille. Does the fact there will be no contractions at all in this affect any use of the grade 1 indicator?  Thank you.

kdejute

Cheri,

Unfortunately, it appears that the picture you tried to share is too large for Ask an Expert to handle. Can you upload a smaller resolution picture?

I cannot respond to your specific material without seeing it.

Nonetheless, generally, within an uncontracted environment the only thing that needs grade 1 mode is lowercase letters a-j that follow unspaced after a number (because otherwise such letters read as digits; e.g., 123 #abc versus 12c #ab;c). Without contractions (i.e., in an uncontracted environment), other symbols cannot be misread (because they can't be read as contractions since none are used anywhere).

I hope this helps, and I look forward to seeing your specific material.

–Kyle

Cheri A. Wales
    Participant

I apologize for that.  I can't get a photo the correct size. The problem is (divided between lines like this):

Percentage   =  Original number - New Number

change             ______________________   x   100      [that's meant to be the dividing line in division, not an underscore]

Original number