Numeric subscripts in fractions and radicals

Home Forums Nemeth Code for Math and Science Numeric subscripts in fractions and radicals

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    shawngreiner
    Participant

I have read sections §77 and §79 over and over again and the wording has me a little confused. Does §77.iii apply to this situation: I have a numeric subscript to an abbreviation which is the numerator in a fraction which is part of a square root radical. (See attachment)

I really just want to know if I need to use the subscript indicator here before the subscript numeral 2 and then the baseline indicator before the horizontal fraction line. Whatever your answer is, please explain why in simple layman's terms. I continue sometimes to be confused by the language used in the rule books.

Also, as an aside, I have been using the ELI and the double caps indicator before the abbreviation SD (Standard Deviation) [see same attachment]. I am convinced that I read that rule correctly, but I would like to have some confirmation from the "expert" since the language issue comes up again and again with the rule books.

Someday I hope to see a new rule book with UEB in it and also simpler language that does not require jumping through hoops to figure out. Also some of these types of examples would be great so we could see more of the code used.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    kdejute

Greetings, Shawn! Thank you for the question.