picture as a definition of foreign vocabulary word

Home Forums Foreign Language picture as a definition of foreign vocabulary word

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    rsherwood12
    Participant

Hi,
    I am fairly new to transcribing foreign language textbooks. I have an Italian textbook where vocabulary words are defined at the bottom of the page, sometimes in words, and sometimes with a picture. When a picture is provided for the student to learn the vocabulary word, is it appropriate to include an English description of the picture in an embedded TN? Are tactile graphics ever included?

I have attached a .pdf of a sample page.

Thanks,
    Rebecca

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    joannavenneri
    Participant

This topic is covered in depth in the Foreign Language Braille article in the Fall 2012 issue of the NBA Bulletin, so I will not repeat that here. To summarize, the foreign language label (or caption) is treated as a picture caption and the contracted English description is enclosed in an embedded transcriber's note. The description should be verified in the book's glossary by looking up the caption to determine the vocabulary. Thanks for including the print page. That is very helpful.

--Joanna

joannavenneri
    Participant

Thank you for reminding me about the NBA Bulletin. I had forgotten about that wonderful resource for this type of question.

And thank you for your quick response. I really appreciate your help!

Best,
    Rebecca

rsherwood12
    Participant

Hi Joanna,
    I looked over the NBA Bulletin article, and it was very clear about the formats for pictures which illustrate vocabulary words. Thank you.

In this book, the body has italics for keywords and line numbers, so the notes at the end of the page will be identified by a reference indicator in the body and preceding the note like [simbraille]77il#ae[/simbraille].